Professor Cumrun Vafa Receives 2017 Ellis Island Medal of Honor

May 23, 2017

Please join us in congratulating Professor Cumrun Vafa, recipient of the 2017 Ellis Island Medal of Honor. The Ellis Island Medal of Honor award was founded by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organization (NECO) and is presented at a yearly ceremony on Ellis Island in May. Both the United States House of Representatives and United States Senate have officially recognized recipients who are read into the Congressional Record.


NECO writes, "The Ellis Island Medals of Honor embody the spirit of America in their celebration of patriotism, tolerance, brotherhood and diversity. They recognize individuals who have made it their mission to share with those less fortunate their wealth of knowledge, indomitable courage, boundless compassion, unique talents and selfless generosity; all while maintaining the traditions of their ethnic heritage as they uphold the ideals and spirit of America." Past honorees include Nobel Prize winners and 7 US Presidents.


Congratulations, Professor Vafa!