Mundy, Ni, Randall Receive 2019 APS Prizes

October 24, 2018

APS Prize

                                                         left to right: Professors Julia Mundy, Kang-Kuen Ni, Lisa Randall


Congratulations to Professors Julia MundyKang-Kuen Ni, and Lisa Randall for receiving 2019 American Physical Society prizes!

Mundy, Assistant Professor of Physics, has been awarded the George E. Valley, Jr. Prize "for the pico-engineering and synthesis of the first room-temperature magnetoelectric multi-ferroic material."

Ni, Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, received I.I. Rabi Prize in Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics "for seminal work on ultracold molecules, including original contributions to the understanding of chemical reactions in the quantum regime, deterministic creation of individual molecules with optical tweezers, and development of novel, high-precision techniques to interrogate and control the complete set of internal molecular resources.”

Randall, Frank B. Baird, Jr., Professor of Science, shared J. J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics with Raman Sundrum (University of Maryland, College Park) "for creative contributions to physics beyond the Standard Model, in particular the discovery that warped extra dimensions of space can solve the hierarchy puzzle, which has had a tremendous impact on searches at the Large Hadron Collider."